Tags

I didn’t answer all the questions for the final blog post, so here they are:

1. The learning environment is online, with a mix of materials (downloadable PDF, video tutorial, embedded quizzes). The target audience is undergraduate distance learning students at a state university in GA. The focus of project is a database demonstration (with Web of Science as the database).

2. The learning outcomes for this project are

a) Students should know the database exists.
b) Students should be able to navigate to the and access the database successfully.
c) Students should be able to choose this database when it’s appropriate to their assignment, question, or project.
d) Students should be familiar at a basic level with the basic features (search, filter, citation information) of the database.

3. The assessments would be embedded “recall” quizzes (1-3 questions) and possibly a librarian-scored problem scenario in which students need to use the database to most effectively answer the scenario. The quizzes would relate to the outcomes a & d while the scenario would relate to outcome c. The access outcome would not be assessed, but would be supported with a downloadable “reminder”-type document with access directions.

4. Learning theories with a constructivist bent support the use of problem-based assessment while behaviorist theories support the use of quizzing to assess recall of basic information.
I am particularly interested in having students use their current knowledge in relation to choosing/using databases, so I feel that a problem-based assessment/activity that helps them discover the database’s efficacy is the best option for the database demo scenario.

5. I would use video tutorials and documents to present some of the information. If possible, I might do a live discussion group for the scenario activity, so that students can interact with me and each other.
I think a mix of materials will help students focus on the most important concepts relating to selecting and understanding WoS.

6. I found the codification of previous knowledge the most helpful in this class. I’m not sure I’m comfortable yet adapting instructional design to one-shot instruction, but I feel like having a community of librarians also working on this will be particularly helpful.

I have been so busy that I would like more time to reflect on what I’ve learned. I did learn that risks based on evidence are a good thing. I deviated from the assigned interview task and it seemed to resonate well with my audience, so that seems to be a good fit with the critical pedagogy idea of empowering learners to do new things with the information they learn.

7. My biggest regret with this class was that I did not have the time to engage with others’ posts in a way that I consider appropriate or typical for me. I do intend to go back to some blogs to ‘catch up’ on what I know I’ve missed. I did skim a lot and found other posts about critical pedagogy particularly interesting.

8. I tried to incorporate critical pedagogy into everything I did in this course, from the readings to my decision to go off the track for my presentation. A big challenge I’ve faced is from people not necessarily knowing what critical pedagogy is, so having to keep that in mind and leaving time to explore and/or explain as needed.

