Tags

I’m not using the worksheets for this part, as I don’t think I’m that structured yet.

I did find the CMU material useful. More than that, I’ve found their workshops amazingly inspiring. I’m lucky enough to be at CMU and attending the Eberly Center workshops and Special Interest Groups (SIGs).

For library instruction, whether one-shot or not, I favor low-stakes assessments that happen all the time.

I really like the think-pair-share activities (which I also see as assessments). I think these are very likely to help me get students to the learning goals I have set for them. A big part of what I hope students get from library instruction is critical thinking skills and talking this out with someone is a great part of that. If they have to explain their choices or processes, they have to think about them.

I am also in favor of maps, charts, and journal entries that students create as they work on research projects or activities. I use a chart in one activity that helps students move from idea to search terms to results to citations.

I don’t know that I see much of a place for summative assessment in library instruction. How would that work? Unless it’s a research project, I don’t see that it wouldn’t be wholly artificial. In an ideal world, I would see library instruction integrated with a course that does have that kind of assignment so that the library instruction is always already applied, rather than giving students another research project just to see if they can do one.

I feel like I need to give more thought to this part of the course.

