Tags

, ,

I’m writing this as I’m waiting for my iPad to finish charging, because I prefer to have it open to the worksheet while I write my blog post on my desktop. [Privilege proximity alert.]

I spent a lot of time yesterday following a tangent. I had so many tabs open in Safari on my iPad and I needed to reduce the number. In addition to the required reading for IDE this week, I read through dozens of tabs and mapped my process.

I posted the first iteration of the first page of the map to Twitter.

I was thinking, prompted by Week 1 and Week 2, about how each person certainly has idiosyncrasies to their engagement with information/learning. I wanted to know what I was doing, so I mapped it out.

I learned a few things, or at least took time to pause over a few things I knew (“knew” in the sense of knowing I did them):

1) I read tabs R to L, I think because this is how they end up ordered, time-wise

2) Some tabs I read and just close; others I read, open new tabs, save the original tab, then close

3) Sometimes it takes me days or weeks to get back to the newly opened tabs from the ‘original’ tab

4) I’m really frustrated that I don’t know if/how Safari on the iPad and Pocket integrate

5) Most of what I read comes through my Twitter feed

The next thing I may track is how many non-male and/or non-white people I a) follow on Twitter and b) read more about (meaning that I read things they post, retweet, etc.).

I think that if we are serious about critical pedagogy and diversity and improving our world, we must consciously seek out marginalized voices and voices that are not part of our dominant narratives or our everyday lives. Especially in librarianship and thus teaching librarianship, which skews demographically female but is still male-dominated, we need to be aware of multiple realities: poc are underrepresented in the profession, in higher management, and in collections, policies, etc.; men hold more positions of power even though they are a minority of people in the profession overall; most of us are white women and as a group we have historically colluded in oppressions again a variety of groups.

This means that I’m often reading things I wouldn’t otherwise have read and I am not infrequently uncomfortable with what I’m reading.

So, another way for me to self-assess (because I have a particular goal: increase my exposure to non-white, non-male, non-hetero voices) is to look at the tabs I open and read and just get some raw numbers. I would have to track over time to show increase or decrease, but this is a next step.

All of this was a way to think through the questions of this class.

If we want our students to do these things, how do we help? Still no answers, but I’m enjoying my processes. I call my documenting ‘mapping,’ but it’s all about what I’m doing, not getting anywhere or being “there yet.”

